Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Welding - comments
b14wrc

posted on 20/10/12 at 08:02 AM Reply With Quote
Welding - comments

Hi all,

As subject says:

This is my first attempt, not welded in a few years, got set up yesterday and had a go. Anything from the photo that looks wrong? From the inside of the tube I can see penetration.

Rob

20vt powered rear engined locost

Strontium Dog

posted on 20/10/12 at 08:23 AM Reply With Quote
That looks fine to me.

http://s187.photobucket.com/albums/x319/zephyr2000/General%20forum%20uploads/?action=view¤t=3DEngine.mp4

sdh2903

posted on 20/10/12 at 08:26 AM Reply With Quote
Looks very good

b14wrc

posted on 20/10/12 at 09:06 AM Reply With Quote
Thanks guys. Would you then just clean off the spatter prior to powder coating?

I was finding initially on a plate I was doing lines on that the weld was very high, sticking up. Think I have the settings right now.

On that piece I chamffered the edges with a file. Quite a bit of work to do, looking forward to the 300+ joints I will end up doing now. Lol, what have I let myself in for!

Rob

Dick Axtell

posted on 20/10/12 at 09:15 AM Reply With Quote
Mig?Tig?

Looks like Mig welding. Correct? Haven't used arc welding since my apprenticeship days (long time gone!), but as I recall, there was usually more spatter, than your sample shows.

Work-in-Progress: Changed to Zetec + T9. Still trying!!

owelly

posted on 20/10/12 at 09:22 AM Reply With Quote
Looks good. A quick whizz over with a 'strip n clean' disc in the angry grinder will knock off the spatter. I wouldn't bother with a chamfer. For stuff that needs to be ground flat, just leave a gap equal to half the material thicknes (or thereabouts to make sure the weld gets full penetration.

http://www.ppcmag.co.uk

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
robinj66

posted on 20/10/12 at 09:26 AM Reply With Quote