Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Reverse on a chain diff
lucy

posted on 29/11/12 at 10:10 PM Reply With Quote
Reverse on a chain diff

I've got a rear bike engined car with a chain driven diff and need a reverse fitting to it. Help!

I'm not an engineer (nor a 'builder' so any info would be most helpful.

I only really need it to meet race regs although it might be handy on the road occasionally.

I assume I will need a gear ring fitted to the diff and a starter motor to drive it in reverse when needed. Is that basically it?

All I need to know now is;
What size gear? (MK may help here)
How do I fix it?
What type of starter motor?
How do I fit it?
How do I wire it and will a bike battery suffice?

Or should I get it done by someone who knows what they are doing (MK is too far away so preferably near me in the south Birmingham region)?

cloudy

posted on 29/11/12 at 10:23 PM Reply With Quote
Another option you could consider is to use a chain diff with built in reverse, am selling one here!
http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/forum/34/viewthread.php?tid=176573

[Edited on 29/11/12 by cloudy]

www.warnercars.com

lucy

posted on 29/11/12 at 10:38 PM Reply With Quote
That does look sexy but maybe a little too much for my poor finances I'm afraid. Not sure how complicated the fixing would be for me either!
MK9R

posted on 29/11/12 at 11:29 PM Reply With Quote
What race series are you going into?? If there is room you are better off fitting the reverse gear to the engine sproket due to the gearing down to the rear sprocket. Where abouts in south brum are you??? What car is it??

Cheers Austen

RGB car number 9
www.austengreenway.co.uk
www.automatedtechnologygroup.co.uk
www.trackace.co.uk

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
lucy

posted on 30/11/12 at 12:08 AM Reply With Quote