Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: University Project Help
Miks15

posted on 22/1/13 at 06:51 PM Reply With Quote
University Project Help

Hey Guys,

Its been a while (a long while!) since I last posted on here but I need some help and have always had some great reponse from here so thought I would ask the collective!

Im currently in my Final Year at uni and my final year project involves investigating ways of guiding air flow through horizontally mounted radiators. I am working with a company who are interested in optimising their current set up so I need to come up with new ideas of deflecting the air through the radiator. The new ideas will then be tested using CFD to look at any gains or losses of the new designs and to look at the effectiveness of the current set up.

Does anyone know of any vehicles (road or race) or pictures they could help me with to get the design ideas started. Im looking for anything with any type of radiator which isnt mounted perpendicular to air flow and the methods used to get air through the core.

Thanks All,

Mikkel

gregs

posted on 22/1/13 at 07:02 PM Reply With Quote
My house mate (at the time) did his final year project on air flow through an aerial atom rad (near enough horizontal from memory). Don't know if this helps at all but I remember Aerial being quite 'engaged'.

Greg

scudderfish

posted on 22/1/13 at 07:04 PM Reply With Quote
Lotus Elise springs to mind.
MkIndy7

posted on 22/1/13 at 07:08 PM Reply With Quote
Obviously not radiators but theres a few turbo cars with their intercoolers sat horizontal ontop of the engine with the aid of a scoop to feed air to them such as:

Subarus, and I think the Nissan Sunny GtiR, Celica GT4, Mazda 3 MPS for example so they must be able to get them to work although one of the first upgrades on any of these cars is a front mounted intercooler!

Slimy38

posted on 22/1/13 at 07:25 PM Reply With Quote