Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Rather long wheelbase
chrisjb111

posted on 5/3/13 at 09:07 PM Reply With Quote
Rather long wheelbase

Hi all.

I picked up a bit of a deal last year (or at least what I thought was a deal), it was a part built locost using an mx5 as a donor. I have been reading up quite a bit on locost & haynes roadster's etc as I am a novice to this, I'm a lot happier with electronics .

I have had a bit of time recently to see exactly what I have bought and the frame has always looked a bit on the long side. I have measured the wheelbase and track and the results are:

Wheelbase = 2720mm
Front Track = 1300mm
Rear Track = 1400mm

I was just wondering if anyone could shed some light on what it might handle like?

I have been reading that 1.61:1 is the best ratio to have and am a bit concerned that it might handle like a bus.

It's not the end of the world if the results are that it's heading for the bus lane, just means a slight change in direction (or change in frame).

Any help would be most appreciated.

Cheers.

Chris.

iank

posted on 5/3/13 at 09:25 PM Reply With Quote
The 1.6 ratio is a bit of a myth as the "best" ratio depends what you want to do and people seem to assume the golden ratio MUST mean something for handling.

But at around 2.0 it's at the extreme end of a road car. It will be very stable at speed but not the most nimble - that's why drag racers are long and narrow, 1.3 would be very agile in the corners but nervous at speed on the straight - like karts.

Personally I'd be thinking about chopping a bit out of the middle - presumably it's been designed around the standard prop-shaft?

--
Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Anonymous

chrisjb111

posted on 5/3/13 at 11:37 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks iank.