Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Welding course recommendations
joneh

posted on 15/6/13 at 08:12 PM Reply With Quote
Welding course recommendations

Hi all,

Got my self a Clarke 151te and a pile of poorly welded scrap

Can anyone recommend a MIG welding course in the Fareham / Hampshire area? I've browsed the various forums and feel some hand holding is the next best step!

Cheers,
Jon

T66

posted on 15/6/13 at 08:16 PM Reply With Quote
All the night classes start in September, check out your local college, most of them my way run evening classes doing mig/tig/gas/stick etc.

Im self taught, probably lots of errors to a trained welder but thats my issue...

mark chandler

posted on 15/6/13 at 08:25 PM Reply With Quote
Are you using a hand held mask?

To start you need to be comfy and support your welding hand with you other hand so a good mask is a must.

joneh

posted on 15/6/13 at 08:27 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by mark chandler
Are you using a hand held mask?

To start you need to be comfy and support your welding hand with you other hand so a good mask is a must.

Nope, bought a good mask which helped a lot!

Slimy38

posted on 15/6/13 at 09:14 PM Reply With Quote
I did a city and guilds evening course, ok the qualification is not overly useful but learning to weld with good kit was very useful. You can also try tig without having to buy an expensive unit first. It cost me about £100 for a 13 week course, 2 hours a week. Really good value in my opinion.
MikeR

posted on 15/6/13 at 09:28 PM Reply With Quote
I did the same as slimey. The only issue with the course is everything was on 5mm steel with very expensive (good) welders.