Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Lots of Questions
ian.stewart

posted on 22/6/13 at 10:21 PM Reply With Quote
Lots of Questions

Hello Chaps,
newbie here, I am just starting to get the bits together to build a BEC,
Engine choice is probably somewhat unusual, being a Suzuki TL1000R, Im going to turn it sideways and drive off the output shaft, nothing unusual there, I have a |Translogic quickshifter for it,
I will need a drive flange, which I think is the same as a bussa, wheres the cheapest/best place to get one,
I am limited on rad size, with a max of 370mm wide and probably about the same height, suggestions? I may be able to lay the rad back at about 45 degs,
Reversers, what are my options?, mostly expensive from what I have seen.
Choice of vehicle is very different to the norm, and originally built in 1933, Weight wise I should be coming in around 680lbs without driver, Barn Door aerodynamics, so top end is very limited.
Ian.

ReMan

posted on 22/6/13 at 10:45 PM Reply With Quote
Plain steel flanges are about £70 and AFAIK avaialble from most kit suppliers, MNR MK, MAC1.
If you want posh ones Nova racing do donut type.
Reverse is the expensive box £600 + split shafts £300
Else build one with a starter motor and ring gear for much less as used by the above
Will just need to fit into your project, which you need to share the dtails of, with pictures

www.plusnine.co.uk
∙،°. ˘Ô≈ôﺣ

Valtra

posted on 22/6/13 at 10:45 PM Reply With Quote
So what is the choice of vehicle then ?

"If it looks like it works and it feels like it works, then it works"

ian.stewart

posted on 22/6/13 at 11:19 PM Reply With Quote
Well it started something like this when it was new,

Its going to end up something like this, but a little bit more refined, If I can get it to sit like this I will be happy,

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u197/ianianstewart/a7011-1.jpg

on wheels like this,