Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Tig welding for a complete novice?
marco

posted on 20/11/13 at 09:36 AM Reply With Quote
Tig welding for a complete novice?

I want to learn to Tig weld ideally Aluminium and Stainless steel. Now given I have no experience in welding at all is it wise to go out and buy a relatively low cost AC/DC tig welder to start and learn with or not bother at all and pay an expert to do any upcoming work I have.

I am wondering how long and how much practice is required to achieve average results?

r1_pete

posted on 20/11/13 at 09:45 AM Reply With Quote
I would advise against a cheap TIG set, I bought a £400 Cobel AC/DC, and it was a complete pile of crap, never worked on AC, I ended up selling it as spares, and buying an R-Tech, never looked back. Some people have had good experience of cheapies, Imp Paul got a good one, but I wouldn't risk it again. R-Tech are a great company to deal with, very attentive and helpful.

As for learning, read all you can there are some good articles and video demos on the TIG section of the MIG Welding forum, if you can do a nightschool course it would be worthwhile if there is a decent practical element to it.

After that its practice practice practice, and then some more practice.

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
davidimurray

posted on 20/11/13 at 10:08 AM Reply With Quote
I have £120 DC Tig set bought on a whim - I ended up welding my whole chassis, wishbones, sump and just about everything else steel for a full build with it!

Wish I had a pedal for thinner stuff and better control.

As said practice practice practice

Gallery 1 http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.116893465324.130778.601005324
Gallery 2 http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.245243755324.181913.601005324&l=a9831a9319
Gallery 3 http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.440671625324.232627.601005324&l=3f0d42c523