Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Pinto alternator wiring help please
Mikef

posted on 8/12/13 at 12:54 PM Reply With Quote
Pinto alternator wiring help please

Hi All.

Just swapping engines and bits around. I have a Pinto engine that I am going to fit a Wosp alternator. Whilst I am fine with wiring diagrams I am not an auto electrician.

I have 2 heavy wires brown,and a light wire. The later I have no issue with and know which terminal it goes to. The 2 heavy wires are both the same colour , and looking at a westfield wiring diagram , one goes to the battery and the other the ign switch. The question I have is;

Of the two heavy connections on the alternator, does it mater which brown one goes to which terminal please ? Ia m assuming it does not matter as they are both the same colour. If some one could help here I would be grateful.

Thanks

britishtrident

posted on 8/12/13 at 01:02 PM Reply With Quote
Both brown wires can go straight to the battery +, or the live (battery +) side of the starter motor solenoid.

[I] “ What use our work, Bennet, if we cannot care for those we love? .”
― From BBC TV/Amazon's Ripper Street.
[/I]

Mikef

posted on 8/12/13 at 01:14 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks for the quick reply.

I dont think I have explained it very well. I need to know if it matters which brown wire goes on a specific alternator connection.

Mike

snapper

posted on 8/12/13 at 02:07 PM Reply With Quote
http://i750.photobucket.com/albums/xx141/snapperpaul/E07EE8E7-9291-4D38-90DF-27297C5DFA42-3561-000002CD4039215A_zpseb843db5.jpg

I eat to survive
I drink to forget
I breath to pi55 my ex wife off (and now my ex partner)

Dusty

posted on 8/12/13 at 02:08 PM Reply With Quote