Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Laying my own drive- good idea or pain in the backside?!
me!

posted on 16/3/14 at 08:13 AM Reply With Quote
Laying my own drive- good idea or pain in the backside?!

Morning all.

My drive is an enormous concrete slab that various idiots have added to over the years, so it now bridges over the damp proof course to the render of the house. I was trying to cut away around the house yesterday, and came to the conclusion that it would be much better to just get rid of the lot.

I have the next couple of weekends free, and I am thinking of hiring a hydraulic breaker to get rid of the slab and then laying a new drive. I was thinking block paving, but as I've never done it before I don't know if this is sensible to attempt. Is there a better choice than block paving? I don't want tarmac as axle stands sink into it, and I'd rather avoid concrete again as I don't like the look of it. If I did go block paving would it need a concrete bed underneath to stop it sinking? I was thinking aggregate/sand/blocks but then I don't really know what I'm doing.

It looks like I'm going to have to do it myself as I can't afford the approx £3.5k it would cost to get someone in. Any advice greatly appreciated!!

Craig

snapper

posted on 16/3/14 at 08:21 AM Reply With Quote
The key is a good hardcore bed then sand wacked down to give a firm base
It's not the easiest to get right if you've never done it

I eat to survive
I drink to forget
I breath to pi55 my ex wife off (and now my ex partner)

rusty nuts

posted on 16/3/14 at 08:33 AM Reply With Quote