Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Black Top Zetec engine out help
cortez

posted on 2/10/14 at 05:13 PM Reply With Quote
Black Top Zetec engine out help

I purchased a part built GBS Zero, which is now nearly close to the IVA test!

It went for remapping last week, which made me a little nervous as I didn't do the engine install. After a jet service and guidance from Omex, all was going well until 5500rpm and the car started to vibrate. I have since checked and found 2 loose gearbox bell housing bolts, one of which has been over tightened and stripped the thread plus there’s no dust plate between engine and gearbox.

So I need to remove the engine, which I have no experience of on this car, so to make things a little easier, can I remove the engine and leave the gearbox in place?

Thanks

arrow-engineering

posted on 2/10/14 at 06:34 PM Reply With Quote
yes, but to seperate the engine from the gearbox you need to move the engine forward around 75mm before you can go up, sso you will need to check clearance first
AndyW

posted on 2/10/14 at 06:57 PM Reply With Quote
Clearance should be fine to remove without the gearbox, but remember you will have to remove the engine mount from the block and not just where they are bolted to the chassis, they wont clear the upper rails, so once the engine is supported by the crane, completely remove the mounts and it should pop straight out. That's how I did it on my zero.
cortez

posted on 2/10/14 at 07:25 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by AndyW
Clearance should be fine to remove without the gearbox, but remember you will have to remove the engine mount from the block and not just where they are bolted to the chassis, they wont clear the upper rails, so once the engine is supported by the crane, completely remove the mounts and it should pop straight out. That's how I did it on my zero.

Thanks AW......................Hope to start at the weekend.