Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Locost to Haynes chassis conversion
hendy777

posted on 23/5/16 at 02:57 PM Reply With Quote
Locost to Haynes chassis conversion

Hi,

I'm a newbie so please be gentle.
I'v always wanted to build my own car so few years ago i bought a complete chassis off Ebay. This ended up sitting in my garage for the next 3 years. Determined not to give up on it i am now ready to start. The chassis was in need of work, a lot of the welds were poor and the brackets fell off and the floor was warped but i knew it was going to be a project and happy to continue.

When i Bought it i knew nothing about it all and thought it would be quite straight forward. Since having it i have done a lot of reading on here and various other research and now i know there are many different types of chassis designs.

I have decided as i have the donor already that i would like to build the MX5 Haynes roadster and will follow the Saturn plans where needed.

My problem is... After sitting down and comparing the book (Gibbs) and Saturn plans that my chassis is a Locost design chassis and the rear end is completely different for obvious rear axle differences.

My question, and thanks for sticking with me is can i modify the Locost design chassis and turn it into a Haynes chassis or will i be better off starting from fresh and building a new one? I know the haynes design is taller and longer but was hoping that someone let me know if it was worth the work?

Many thanks..

DRM Black7

posted on 23/5/16 at 03:06 PM Reply With Quote
Well considering by the sounds of it the locost chassis sounds rubbish. I'd start again with some nice freash metal
big_wasa

posted on 23/5/16 at 03:15 PM Reply With Quote
For the price I would just start from scratch.
joneh

posted on 23/5/16 at 03:16 PM Reply With Quote
Bin it and start again...
Slimy38

posted on 23/5/16 at 03:18 PM Reply With Quote