Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Christmas is coming - DA sander/polisher?
SteveWallace

posted on 22/11/16 at 05:28 PM Reply With Quote
Christmas is coming - DA sander/polisher?

SWMBO has asked my to suggest Christmas presents (from her to me). Some time next year I'll be starting to restore the body panels on my MG TC and prepping them for painting (most of them bare metal with surface rust). I will also have paint prep and polishing to do at some point

I'm thinking that a combined DA sander/polisher would be a good idea, but I'm not an expert in this sort of work.

Is that the correct tool for the job. If so, recommendations for make and model please. If not, what should I be looking at?

r1_pete

posted on 22/11/16 at 05:55 PM Reply With Quote
A DA Sander is great for prep and paint removal, the Orbital motion is powered the spinning motion is induced by the orbit.

A polisher is like a slow 9" angle grinder, but it must have slow start or you'll easily burn the paint.

Here's an example of each:

Silverline Silverstorm 1500W Sander Polisher 180mm 1500W Heavy Duty Polish Tool

Wolf 6" 150mm Random Dual Action DA Orbital Palm Air Sander Pneumatic Polishing

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
cliftyhanger

posted on 22/11/16 at 06:29 PM Reply With Quote
if you want a DA air sander, you need a decent compressor. My 3hp one will just about keep up with a CP obe, but runs out of puff with a SIP (guess the CP has better tolerances etc, and costs rather more!)

I think there are electric DA sanders out there, watch out for abrasive costs, some are very expensive.
As to polisher, I have a 10 year old silverline orange one, works nicely, but is not DA.

Slimy38

posted on 22/11/16 at 07:20 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by r1_pete