Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Si & Will's Tiger Avon based MX5 build
FOUR HUNDRED YEARS

posted on 12/3/19 at 01:54 PM Reply With Quote
Si & Will's Tiger Avon based MX5 build

Hi Everybody,

I acquired this chassis last year from a colleague who purchased it as a rolling chassis but for various reasons couldn't finish the build. I had to store it during a house move / renovation but finally am able to make a start.

This is a joint venture between my best mate and myself as a fun project in the garage. Neither of us have built a 7 style car before but I'm a CNC Machinist in vintage car restoration and he is an electrical engineer so hopefully we can work something out between us!

No doubt we will be asking for lots of help and advice!

This is what we purchased for a few hundred pounds:

2019011 3_173808 by Simon Longley, on Flickr

2019011 3_173537 by Simon Longley, on Flickr

At first we thought it was a locost chassis but after a bit of research into the front wishbone mod we realised ours is nothing like a locost, in fact the front and rear wishbones are most certainly Tiger Avon as they measure up correctly and also feature the weld marks for orientation. The chassis looks quite well made with an integrated roll hoop and is almost entirely bronze welded apart from the wishbone mounts, rad mounts and steering rack mounts which are mig welded.

Is there an advantage to a bronze welded chassis over a mig welded one? The tunnel has been modified by my colleague with bent round tube as he wanted a rounded look however we immediately ruined all his work after discovering that the MX5 box didn't fit as it was built around a crossflow and type 9 gearbox. We chopped out the tunnel just to see if the engine and lump would go in which it does thankfully though obviously we will need to make all new mounting for it.