Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Pinto vacuum advance take off point ?
Derbyboy

posted on 21/5/19 at 10:10 PM Reply With Quote
Pinto vacuum advance take off point ?

Evening all, I'm new to the world of kit cars and have just bought one with a 2.0 pinto engine which I believe is completely standard as it came out of the 1986 Sierra diner car. The engine seems in good condition, but isn't running very well so I'm doing some investigation work. The first thing I've noticed it that the vacuum advance on the dizzy isn't connected to anything.

I've found a pipe from the manifold that was cable tied under the manifold it's shown in the photo below

This looks like it's supposed to be the vacuum pipe for the dizzy. Looking in the Sierra Haynes manual it's in a different place to the original location, does anyone know if this will work ok ? I'm wondering if it didn't work well and that's why it was disconnected.

cliftyhanger

posted on 22/5/19 at 05:49 AM Reply With Quote
That should work fine.

However, the vacuum advance is unlikely to make any difference to the running, it is there to give better fuel consumption and torque under "light cruise" conditions.

If running poorly, do the usual stuff. Check the timing, and that the distributor is advancing correctly (timing gun needed)
Check for air leaks on the inlet side. And that if carbs everything is clean/moving etc. Spark plugs can be a problem, it seems some never recover from being flooded.

A few pointers to describe the symptoms would be useful so pointers can be given.

Derbyboy

posted on 22/5/19 at 06:52 AM Reply With Quote
Thanks for the reply, here's a few more details on what the engine is doing.

Poor starter often on 2 or 3 cylinders from cold
Very rough idle when cold
Feels like it's lacking power
Popping in the exhaust when off the throttle
Very heavy on petrol