Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: BMW 120 thoughts
crabz013

posted on 25/8/20 at 07:27 PM Reply With Quote
BMW 120 thoughts

Hi. New here and wanted some thoughts on a possible build. I have a BMW 1 series which has a broken engine and a 1000 Yamaha which has been for a slide along the tarmac. Engine is good and runs but will need re-wiring.
How easy would it be to put together into a locost and which chassis would be a better option? Or possibly even a pre assembled one?
I am a HGV mechanic by trade so the wiring, welding and fabrication shouldn’t pose much of a problem but I am a little unsure, maybe someone may have done it before?
Thinking De Dion axle or possibly even IRS?
Longer term if it works out well then will possibly turbocharge and convert to a Megasquirt Ecu or similar!
Thanks in advance and don’t be shy, I would like real opinions, I know it is a little different!
Karl

rf900rush

posted on 25/8/20 at 07:45 PM Reply With Quote
Sounds like you are half way there.

A few years back I built a Dax Rush and went the bike engine route.
I think my build was no more difficult than a car engined version.

At the build stage I used a Suzuki RF900 and ford Sierra as a a donar.

I believe a lot use BMW now, as it one of the few rear wheel drive cars left that has been used in seven's.

Later on I upgraded to Megasquirt (RF900 runs carbs) using GSXR600 K1/K2 injection bodies.

Go for it

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
crabz013

posted on 25/8/20 at 07:57 PM Reply With Quote