Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Oversized book chassis and handling..
akumabito

posted on 12/5/05 at 05:36 PM Reply With Quote
Oversized book chassis and handling..

I've read that many people make their 'book' chassis either longer or wider to fit their neeeds, and I was wondering if this affected the handling of the car in any way? And does the steering geometry need to be adapted for a different wheelbase?
Dale

posted on 12/5/05 at 11:13 PM Reply With Quote
I am no expert but I went with the assumption that it will effect front to rear roll and ackerman when I did mine. Changing the front end width would make more changes than the length of the car in my opinion . But increasing the wheelbase will take some of the responsiveness away as it will increase your turning radius and nimbleness if thats a word. I have an obsene 107ish inch wheelbase but I modled mine after the late thirties lemans racers so a regular or + 4 would definiately kick my ass on a tight course or autox. But its very unlikely my car will ever be raced asside from light to light on occasion.
Dale

Thanks
Dale

my 14 and11 year old boys 22
and 19 now want to drive but have to be 25 before insurance will allow. Finally on the road

niceperson709

posted on 13/5/05 at 12:17 AM Reply With Quote
I'm with Dale on this one , my car is 50 mm wider than the book and the only real difference I expect is that it will be more stable in the turns . extra length will have more of a noticable effect on the agility of the car and the amount of steering effort required for a given turn but any seven style car is going to be a whole new ball game compared to a standard car the lower gcenter of gravity is going to ensure that .
Best wishes
Iain

Best wishes IAIN
life is not the rehearsal , it's the show so don't sit there thinking about it DO IT NOW
http://iainseven.wordpress.com/

britishtrident

posted on 13/5/05 at 06:10 AM Reply With Quote