Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: What engine?
flidz101

posted on 16/6/06 at 02:50 PM Reply With Quote
What engine?

I'm just starting out on the road to building a bec. I've not yet decided on an engine and wanted to canvas your collective opinion. Basically which engine is best?

I know thats a crap question. What I'm really after is something that compensates ease of build (I'm no engineer) with cost but not at the expense of power.

I'm thinking 'busa at the moment, but I've heard the loom is really tricky to use. Also its a tad expensive, especially if you go for a turbo version.

What do you think?

graememk

posted on 16/6/06 at 02:51 PM Reply With Quote
pinto ?

mookaloid

posted on 16/6/06 at 02:56 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by graememk
pinto ?

is the 1.3 pinto just about the same as the Busa turbo then Graeme?

graememk

posted on 16/6/06 at 02:57 PM Reply With Quote
just thought i'd start the thred off with a bang lol

RichieC

posted on 16/6/06 at 03:20 PM Reply With Quote
If I was doing it again, Id fit a pre 95 blade engine, get it throught SVA then have your choice. This would negate all the hassle with emmissions etc and you could sell the blade motor for what you paid for it. You might be a bit more expensive in the long run as you may be left with a cradle etc which is no good for the new engine but again Id argue you could shift them too.

Im sure not everyone would agree but certainly a few BEC builders would.

Rgds
Rich

donut

posted on 16/6/06 at 03:32 PM Reply With Quote
http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=47012

There ya go!!

Andy

When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andywest1/

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
zxrlocost

posted on 16/6/06 at 03:38 PM Reply With Quote