Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Downshifting Technique
Ferrino

posted on 21/1/07 at 11:09 AM Reply With Quote
Downshifting Technique

I'm still pretty new to bike engines and gearboxes and was wondering what the best technique for downshifting is?

Forget heel-and-toe for the moment, let's say you are just conventionally using your left foot on the clutch and right foot on the brakes, as you would in a boggo tintop. This is the way I have been braking so far and it seems to work fine on track - if I am going all the way down the box I always 'engage' each gear, rather than banging down in 'batches' of gears (eg. 6th straight to 2nd). I read somewhere that this conventional shifting could result in rear-wheel locking due to engine-braking, but I have never experienced this and it seems to work fine, you just get the accompanying rise in revs from changing down a cog. Maybe it's because I tend to downshift quite late - ie. at slower rear-wheel speeds?

So is this how everyone else downshifts? I'm not brave enough to try heel-and-toeing just yet

Wadders

posted on 21/1/07 at 11:14 AM Reply With Quote
changing down like you would in a car, i.e using engine braking, is not so good for bec's it puts a lot of strain on the box. I try to avoid it as much as possible. Its ok if your not going too fast mind.

Originally posted by Ferrino
I'm still pretty new to bike engines and gearboxes and was wondering what the best technique for downshifting is?