Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Scientology..
nick baker

posted on 15/2/07 at 01:25 PM Reply With Quote
Scientology..

I have a "friend".. she's not the sharpest tool in the box and hasn't got the highest self-esteem...

Now I'm an engineer, I deal in logic and things I can touch and understand (I hate ECU's) and subsequently I am an absolute atheist.

She recently let on that she was leaving Sweden to go and work for a "charity" in the UK (near Stanstead?). I was happy: FINALLY she's got a job... so I enquired about the wage...

There isn't one, but she gets an "allowance" and free board and lodgings. She then says that it's actually a scientology group. She was born into it, and has never questiond her faith (based on a 1950's Sci-Fi Author's ideas).

Not so happy after that revelation...

I'm genuinely worried about her being taken advantage of: working for nothing and being treated like amushroom (fed on sh1t and being kept in the dark)

Has anyone here got any experience of Scientology in the UK?

I have friends here who's families have suffered as a result of scientology... and for those who know nothing of them, read this... you'll most likely laugh. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E-meter

Cheers,

Nick.

[Edited on 15/2/07 by nick baker]

nitram38

posted on 15/2/07 at 01:40 PM Reply With Quote
I am an electrician and I had the misfortune of working at their headquarters in East Grinstead Sussex.
It is run like a military style camp where people work on the "castle" for £50 credits. Sounds good, but these credits are for books in the Secure Library. Each book costs £2-3000. They work to get these books. In return they are "ordited" using a simple galvanometer (voltmeter) to see if they can "cross the bridge".
This is basically a hum drum "religion" which brainwashes it's victims into spending their time or money.