Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: windows CE programming
the dave

posted on 25/3/08 at 06:52 PM Reply With Quote
windows CE programming

Let me first say i am not a programmer, but i have a rudientary understanding and could probably pick it up reasonably quickly.

What i would like to do i create a program for winCE to run on my navigo GPS (which runs wince funily enough) to use the USB port to interface with the serial output from my Omex ECU. I have some info about the comms and i simply need to develop something to read that data and then display it. I may want a couple of pages to fit all the data on.

Does anyone here have any information to help me get started e.g. what program to use to write the code, any tips on how to do it or better still any code i could use as a template/starting point.

Any help would be great,

Thanks

Pdlewis

posted on 25/3/08 at 07:17 PM Reply With Quote
Im not 100% sure but I think the Dev environment will all depend of which version of WinCE you are running as the .net librarys will be different.

I think Visual studio 2008 will allow you to choose the framework to compile the project in and has alot of nice features.

I dont know alot about CE but it shouldnt be to hard to write a service or app which streams data from your ecu into either .TXT, .XML or a compact version of SQL Server then have another application to report on the data captured one way of doing this may be to use report service .rdl files (SQL Server Reporting Services) and pass them pre canned data sets so no report service needs to be present to render the report. Apart from VS i think you can get the rest on free to use agreements so wont cost anything.

I know its a bit vague but may help may not

matt_claydon

posted on 25/3/08 at 07:45 PM Reply With Quote