Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Need some IT / website help urgently!!
grazzledazzle

posted on 24/6/08 at 08:51 PM Reply With Quote
Need some IT / website help urgently!!

Hello all,
I'm just about to register a domian name, and have a one page holder html file. The file was created in go-live and has an image in which is currently linked to an image on my hardrive.

How do i get this hosted? Presumably i need someone to host it, but anyone know how i go about this and how i upload my page?

I'm guessing this may be a dumb question but i've never done it before.

Thanks.

joneh

posted on 24/6/08 at 08:56 PM Reply With Quote
Probably easiest to get some hosting with the people you bought the domain from as you'll need to update the domain Tag to point to the correct host.

You'll be given an FTP login account and address, download an ftp client, and upload your file to the host making sure sure you name it index.html.

The location of the image will need to be updated in the HTML, most people put their images in a file named "images".

[Edited on 24/6/08 by joneh]

Jubal

posted on 24/6/08 at 08:58 PM Reply With Quote
You need some webspace. I think you worked that out already. I use www.cheapnames.co.uk and they have been utterly reliable. If you buy the domain at the same place you host the site your life will be made (a little bit) easier. They have a web interface for uploading to your space and options for email etc. Loads of other providers out there if you don't like the look of them.
ChrisS

posted on 24/6/08 at 09:27 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by grazzledazzle
Hello all,
I'm just about to register a domian name, and have a one page holder html file. The file was created in go-live and has an image in which is currently linked to an image on my hardrive.