Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Sierra Sapphire gearbox and engine type?
paul the 6th

posted on 20/7/08 at 04:28 PM Reply With Quote
Sierra Sapphire gearbox and engine type?

Hi, another noob here but looking to start my build in the next month or so...

I have both the ron champion and chris gibbs books' and will be building the haynes roadster. In his book, gibbs has a couple of pages about the possible engines/gearbox types.

I've decided that I'd be happy with the ford cvh engine which he says comes with a type 9 gearbox and was mainly available as a 1.6 or 1.8. "There are relatively few tuning mods available for these engines but they're all suitable for unleaded fuel". Suited with that, since I'm not bothered about mental power and I'd just like to build a sports car on a budget

The next engine he mentions is the dohc 8v which is "tall and heavy" and "not very popular with tuners. The engine will be mated to the later mt75 gearbox."

I'd quite like to go with a sierra sapphire since there seems to be loads of them around without hundreds of thousands of miles on the clock - and also because they're the cvh type. So basically my questions is: Are all the sierra sapphires CVH with a type 9 box? or will some of them be the dohc with mt75?

The reason I ask is because the mt75 box is wider and requires some adjustments to the transmission tunnel to make it fit. I'd rather stick with the original plans in the book since this will be my first build and I'd hate to jump in at the deep end with transmission tunnel adjustments which aren't thoroughly outlined in the book.

If there are some sapphires with the dohc 8v/mt75 configuration - how do you tell them apart from the cvh/type-9 set up?

Thanks in advance & great forum! Paul w