Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Mileage claims
DarrenW

posted on 8/9/08 at 04:02 PM Reply With Quote
Mileage claims

Ive been working for present company for over 5 years now. Ive always been allowed to claim 20p per mile for business mileage. Car is mine but i get a car allowance every month. I have to pay for fuel, servicing, tyres etc.

How much can you claim?

Are mileage claims capped by what the government allows? Is it worth me trying to get an increase or is that likely to resuly in getting taxed more? I cant remember how mileage allowances work with regards to taxation. I do about 12000 business miles a year ish.

short track 123

posted on 8/9/08 at 04:08 PM Reply With Quote
40p / mile up to a limit ( i think its 20000 but i would check that )

thats what the gov allow
Not shore about the car allowance you may be liable for tax on that
jason

[Edited on 8/9/08 by short track 123]

Shorttrack MotorSport Ltd

NOTE:This user is registered as a LocostBuilders trader and may offer commercial services to other users
Jubal

posted on 8/9/08 at 04:12 PM Reply With Quote
This is a big area but you can claim unlimited mileage allowances. The amount you can claim tax free is however limited. See the IR website for the latest figures.
nick205

posted on 8/9/08 at 04:23 PM Reply With Quote
I put fuel in my co. car and can claim back at a Govt/HMRC max of £0.13 / mile for business mileage before getting taxed on it. Co. pays lease/running costs and I get taxed on P11D values as normal.

At one point in the recent fuel price hikes the Govt/HMRC limt was still at £0.09 before moving to £0.11/mile. Makes you watch your mpg somewhat - which is no bad thing IMHO.

Nick

mookaloid

posted on 8/9/08 at 04:25 PM Reply With Quote
Last time I looked you could receive up 40p per mile for the first 10,000 miles and then 25p per mile for the remainder in any one year without it attracting tax.