Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: V6 Indy
thorpey182

posted on 5/10/08 at 03:29 PM Reply With Quote
V6 Indy

Hi, i'm new to the kitcar scene and, like most people probably had, i've got a rough idea of the finished project in mind. Sorry if there is an obvious answer to this question (i'm new!!) but is it possible to squeeze a Mondeo/Jag/Renault 2.5/3.0 ltr V6 into an Indy/IndyR? (not sure which chassis yet..)
Thanks alot.

donut

posted on 5/10/08 at 03:41 PM Reply With Quote
Anything is possible with enough money!! There have been a few Rover V8 versions which are awesome so a V6 would be fine i expect but try and get an ally engine if you can to save weight. You will have to mod the steering and a few other things but should be dooooable.

Welcome by the way.

Andy

When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andywest1/

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
martyn_16v

posted on 5/10/08 at 05:26 PM Reply With Quote
If you can get hold of your engine and gearbox at about the same time as you order the kit, you can leave them with MK and they'll build your chassis around them, they'll do you the engine mounts as well

loggyboy

posted on 5/10/08 at 06:01 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by martyn_16v
If you can get hold of your engine and gearbox at about the same time as you order the kit, you can leave them with MK and they'll build your chassis around them, they'll do you the engine mounts as well

any rough idea of what addtional costs this would incur?

Simon

posted on 5/10/08 at 06:52 PM Reply With Quote
How about something slightly different, but still with a 207bhp V6, 2.7 litre and twin turbo......

Jag diesel

Easy 260 bhp with chip apparently.

I'd be up for it, if starting now!

ATB

Simon

l0rd