Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: What is the best car for a donor car ?
marcus_uk

posted on 20/2/09 at 11:59 PM Reply With Quote
What is the best car for a donor car ?

Hi guys and gals,

I'm new to all this, but have a family member who has restored an old mini clubman and has given me the passion to build my own locost car.
The thing is i dont know which donor car i should buy/source ?

I want to be able to buy parts eaily and cheaply ... if anyone has any help and able to point me in the right direction i would be very greatfull.

Thanks in advance

Marcus

blakep82

posted on 21/2/09 at 12:01 AM Reply With Quote
most would say sierra. theres more exciting engines to be had though

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083

don't write OT on a new thread title, you're creating the topic, everything you write is very much ON topic!

ReMan

posted on 21/2/09 at 12:14 AM Reply With Quote
Buy this book,
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Build-Your-Own-Sports-Car/dp/1844253910
Then ask some more questions

mark chandler

posted on 21/2/09 at 12:26 AM Reply With Quote
If it was that easy, a worn out car will give you worn out engine, gearbox and axle so to get a quality finished product may end up costing more than sourcing the various bits seperately if you end up reconditioning everything seperately.

If you are making your own frame and bones etc then any RWD car could be a good donor as you modify what you build to suit. If you want to follow the easier route then sierra is the car of choice as plans exist for this.

Also what do you want to experience, manic excelleration, sequential shifts and +10,000 RPM is the world of BEC's in which case all you need is are axles propshaft and a big bike engine so getting seperate bits should ultimately be cheaper.