Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: DIY dyno?
liam.mccaffrey

posted on 27/2/04 at 01:46 PM Reply With Quote
DIY dyno?

I would like to start playing with bike engines, (I'm an engineer) tuning and the like. I don't mean high power engines as in BEC's but smaller single and twin cylinder fourstrokes. I don't want to start a business and have no interest in any financial gain, this is just an interest of mine.

What I want to ask is, does anybody know of a "locost" way to obtain power or torque figures for engines, allowing evalution of tuning/modifications.
I have a lathe and access to a mahine shop. I am open to any sugesstions including computer data logging and mechanical means.
Cheers
Liam

[Edited on 27/2/04 by liam.mccaffrey]

MikeR

posted on 27/2/04 at 02:12 PM Reply With Quote
have you done a web search, i'm sure i've seen something somewhere!!! (like that helps you!)

isn't the principle the engines ability to overcome a known amount of friction + some fancy maths.

thebutler

posted on 27/2/04 at 02:20 PM Reply With Quote
Could ask the Burgerman, he built his own. As well as all sorts of other crazy sh!t

http://www.diy-nitrous.fsnet.co.uk/nitrous-kits-designer.htm

Steve

[Edited on 27/2/04 by thebutler]

liam.mccaffrey

posted on 27/2/04 at 02:23 PM Reply With Quote
DIY dyno

I have been looking into various ways including known friction method. I know you can make an air brake dyno but I don't have any info on it. Software estimators aren't much good as I am looking at fly wheel figures and they depend on 0-60 times.

I had thought about rigging up a pump and measuring the volume pumped or the pressure created at varying rpm, this could be callibrated to give a power curve.

Any thoughts anyone?

Mk-Ninja

posted on 27/2/04 at 03:02 PM Reply With Quote
Couldnt you use a generator loaded against a known resistor bank. That would give you a direct power output with some simple maths.