Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Fireblade gearbox problems.
Racin-Sparky

posted on 18/7/11 at 09:45 PM Reply With Quote
Fireblade gearbox problems.

Hi there,
Im a total newbie to BEC and locostbuilders too! What a great, informative forum this is.
Well a little about me.....
I recently purchased a Raw Striker with a 954 fireblade engine, with the intention of a few Track days and Sprints and wkend driving.
Ive had little running in the striker as it feels like its not stopped raining since I parted with my cash.
But wow what a buzz when I have been for a spin!

Now for the bad bit...
Ive only completed about 40 miles on 3 trips and Im getting used to the paddle shift and general feel to the car.

When I change from 1st to 2nd occasionally it goes to neutral, I think this maybe me not using the paddle hard enough, but Im not sure.

I was cruising along in traffic (40-50mph), stopped at a roundabout, pulled away taking it easy, went through from 1st to 3rd ok. Got to 4th and I can hear a rattling noise like putting a screwdriver onto the spokes of a bicycle wheel.

The noise was noticeable at low revs, press the clutch and noise stops, I gave it a little throttle and the noise reduced and it all felt smooth. All other gears were fine.
I short-shifted and managed to get home ok.

Ive got the Honda workshop manual and the Haynes manual, Ive been searching the forums for advice....
Just wondering if you guys could give me some much needed advice, before I do anything to drastic.

Many Thanks in advance.

ReMan

posted on 18/7/11 at 10:53 PM Reply With Quote
Hi and welcome
Its a bit quiet and late but starter for 10

Optomistically from what you describe it may be that your gear linkage is hard work or you are being to gentle with it.
Hitting neutral between 1 and 2 and a noise from 4th that got better sounds like not engaging fully.
And they work better when your not "taking it easy".