Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Tools for beginners?
Worzey

posted on 29/10/07 at 10:22 AM Reply With Quote
Tools for beginners?

Guys,

Bought my car in April mainly for the driving experience and never really thought too much about the mechanical side of things.

I now want to start tinkering e.g. new brakes, replace the rear wheel bearing, new lights and indicators and some other little bits and pieces.

My tool kit is woefully inadequate! Consists mainly of claw hammers and pliers!

I was given £110 worth of Halfords vouchers when I left my job last week and wondered what tools you guys would recommend to get me started?

What essentials would you have in your starter kit?

Sockets?
Torque Wrenches?
Drivers?

Anyone used the Halfords Professional range? Is it any good?

I'm a complete novice but I'm really enjoying the mechanical side of things more than I ever thought I would.

Caterham R400

UncleFista

posted on 29/10/07 at 10:28 AM Reply With Quote
The Halfords professional tools are excellent.
I'd start with (as a bare minimum) a 3/8 socket set, some ratchet spanners and a screwdriver set, that should see out your £110

Tony Bond / UncleFista

Love is like a snowmobile, speeding across the frozen tundra.
Which suddenly flips, pinning you underneath.
At night the ice-weasels come...

mookaloid

posted on 29/10/07 at 10:32 AM Reply With Quote
I would say the Halfords professional range is fine so toddle off to the local store and go tool shopping

I would have:

a 3/8" drive socket set and a 1/2" drive socket set

A set of combination spanners going from 8mm to 19mm - Halfords do some nice ratchet ones with swivel heads which I like but not everyone does

A decent set of screwdrivers

A decent set of allen keys

That should get you started and use up your vouchers