Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: MOT fail - CV gaiter
02GF74

posted on 4/5/11 at 09:13 AM Reply With Quote
MOT fail - CV gaiter

Bad news (for me, not you ) , is that main driver Volvo 850 failed MOT and 1 item is N/S CV gaiter split.

I've ordered both inner and outer (didn't realise there was two) so I should have the parts.

This is my first time to have to replace one of these so how big a job is it? I.e. how much stuff needs to be undone; also I've seen these gaiter stretcher type things that presumably slip the gaiter of over some gubbins to avoid taking it apart - is it worth getting one of those?

Any advice, tips etc. appreciated.

(and I need 2 new tyres on the front AGAIN!!!!

^^^^^ just checked on ebay where I got my pair of yoko from and it was Mar 2010 ..... so got 7 k miles out of the tyres!!!! Now I am quite very pissed off. <- x infinity!!

(tyres worn on inside so tracking needs looking at)

(FREE - anyone want pair of 205/50R16 W tyres, loadsa tread but not quite enough on inside - be fine for hooning around on track or donuts.)

[Edited on 4/5/11 by 02GF74]

snakebelly

posted on 4/5/11 at 09:26 AM Reply With Quote
youll be wanting one of these, much easier than the slip over type, if done properly just as good, fitted one to my merc and it outlasted the vehicle, over 3 years.

Split universal cv gaiter

[Edited on 4/5/11 by snakebelly]

MakeEverything

posted on 4/5/11 at 09:34 AM Reply With Quote
You can buy little cones that are much cheaper than the CV boot expanders. These fit over the joint after youve greased it up, and the boot slides over it and stretches the further you go.

Kindest Regards,
Richard.

...You can make it foolProof, but youll never make it Idiot Proof!...

MikeRJ

posted on 4/5/11 at 09:40 AM Reply With Quote
Most likely to be the outer CV, the inners have a much easier life.

Generic instructions: