Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: mk indy project
autotrader

posted on 6/9/06 at 02:54 PM Reply With Quote
mk indy project

how hard is it to build an mk indy considering i have no mechanical experience?
is it possible or am i wasting my time?
how long should i expect it to take me to build?
any advice greatly appreciated!!!
barry from ireland

Guinness

posted on 6/9/06 at 03:10 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Barry

Welcome to the forum. You'd be able to build an Indy! ANY questions, just ask 'em on here. We've all been there and got most of the issues solved!

My previous experience involved 2 years as a cycle mechanic (the pedal sort, not the motorbike!), minor mechanical interferring with bangers I used to drive when I was 17-20! (Changing oil, air filters, spark plugs and occasionally brakes or alternator).

As for how long to build? Depends if you have a wife / girlfriend / job / social life. I started stripping my donor in May 04 and finished the SVA / registration process in Nov of 05. That was working an hour or two, two or three evenings a week, plus half day at weekend.

Spending a long time building allows you to spend money over a long time too! Depends on your budget, if you can afford to buy all the gear at once then you'll definately be quicker. I had a set amount to spend each month.

Hope that helps.

P.S. Any chance of some free adverts in your magazine?

Cheers

Mike

JamJah

posted on 6/9/06 at 03:13 PM Reply With Quote
Building an MK or GTS (a kit...) is realistic. Imade the mistake of going by the book, whichis a huge learning curve particulary if you dont strip the vechile.

If you have a donor you know wherethings wentandroughtly how they interconnect, that coupled with the support that the many companys provide is priceless.

donut

posted on 6/9/06 at 03:19 PM Reply With Quote