Board logo

MK Indy v's Robin Hood Sub-K
auzziejim - 4/1/03 at 09:48 PM

i am considering buying a kit from either of these companys as i cant seem to find a part built Locost, RH, MK or anything else anywhere for a good price! (im a skint student, LOL) however both these kits are £995 +VAT but i dont know which would be better as i am wanting to build a car as cheaply as possible!

please help me out guys as you seem to be the best people to ask!

robinbastd - 4/1/03 at 09:55 PM

As a Robin Hood (97 stainless exmo) owner I can wholeheartedly recommend......MK
Ian

chrisg - 4/1/03 at 10:05 PM

I wouldn't consider the Robin Hood, many have commented on quality and buildability issues, besides they're UGLY.

You could add Luego and Lolocost to your list but I can't see them matching the quality of the MK.

Just my opinion.

Cheers

Chris

auzziejim - 4/1/03 at 10:18 PM

does any one know how much i should be looking to pay for a part built indy or locost then? would it be cheaper just buying a full kit?

im sorry for asking so many dumb questions but i love 7's and am new to the kit car building game, LOL

[Edited on 4/1/03 by auzziejim]

Skirrow - 4/1/03 at 10:53 PM

I'm in a simialr siruation as yourself, Im trying to decide on a first kit and the 2 you have mentioned are both on my shortlist.

From what I have read and so on I would choose the MK evry day BUT if keeping it cheap is important check what you get with each manufacturer. The subK is a *complete* kit, you just need a donor whereas the MK package for the same price is just the chassis a few suspension bits and some of the fibreglass body panels (but you still need to form a few yourself - having said that mos RHE bulilders will probably tell you that you need to re-form their panels anyway cos they are not a great fit)

I haven't any experience with building either, Im just pointing out that you dont get a lot with the MK in comparioson. Im still umming and ahhing myself.

auzziejim - 4/1/03 at 11:03 PM