Board logo

Can i stretch the chassis?
bigjoe - 21/3/07 at 09:49 AM

Hi all,
Newbie here! Is it possible to stretch the book chassis as im 6'7" and would like to build myself a toy.
I like the site,nice to meet you all

Joe

Chr!S - 21/3/07 at 09:54 AM

You'd be suprised as its fairly large! Try making a mock up of the bottom frame out of wood (or just putting stuff on the floor and measuring ). I'd recommend going slightly wider.

Of course im 5-9 so the chassis is actually a bit too long for me (im going to have to use adjustable runners) but at 6-7 id say go wider (+4 is popular) and perhaps try 2 to 4" longer if you need it

Blakey_boy - 21/3/07 at 09:57 AM

For extra length try the McSorley 442 which is 2 ins longer

ecosse - 21/3/07 at 10:07 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Blakey_boy
For extra length try the McSorley 442 which is 2 ins longer

Actually 4" longer/wider, and 2" higher

Cheers

Alex

russbost - 21/3/07 at 10:26 AM

Although it's a slightly different sort of thing I cut my chassis in half & put an extra 2' into it - anythingis acheivable - justdepends on your determination!

twybrow - 21/3/07 at 10:55 AM

I am 6'6" and I have just purchased a part build Stuart Taylor. The chap has set the seat about 3-4" from the rear bulkhead, and I can currently just squeeze in. When I move the seat right back, I think I will have more than enough room. They are a tight fit! Seat choice can pay a big part in available space.... Choose wisely!

For your info, from the cars I have sat in, the RAW Striker and the Tiger AVON (with floor mounted pedals) were very big inside. The Striker was particularly big for such a small car....

[Edited on 21/3/07 by twybrow]

BenB - 21/3/07 at 12:31 PM

I'm 6ft4 in a Stuart Taylor standard chassis. As already said, seat choice is important.
I went for Kirkey Prodrag seats as the layback is pretty much the same as the rear chassis panel....
Pretty comfy for me