Board logo

Engine conversions
ChrisLeary - 9/3/11 at 08:04 PM

Evening all, hope everyone is well?

I'll soon be looking for a kit car. But the majority of the one's I've seen have car engines in them, which seem to be cheaper than those with bike engines.

I was just wondering how much work is actually involved in converting a car engined kit to a bike engine and the sort of cost I'd be looking at?

I know there are posts in other parts of the forum about this sort of thing, but they seem to be more lists of things you need rather than a general idea of doing a conversion.

I'm an aircraft technician by trade so I should be able to cope (I hope!) but before I jump in I just wanted to consider my options.

Cheers,

Chris

tomgregory2000 - 9/3/11 at 08:12 PM

I would have thought 2-4K depending on engine for everything from start to finish

eddie99 - 9/3/11 at 08:16 PM

Firstly you would have to decide what type of Bike engine? You can pay between £500 to £3k for the engine itself. Are you looking at seven kit cars? I.e you will need a new prop.....

I'd say all in you could do a conversion for 2-5k

stevegough - 9/3/11 at 08:45 PM

Welcome to the forum - you're in great company here - plenty of other wierdos who decide (for reasons best known to themselves) to spoil a wonderful car by putting a bike engine in them.

But, WELCOME all the same!! I am just in the midst of writing up the complete costing of my car from start to on the road, I'll put a summary on here in the next day or so - but it probably won't apply to your situation.

Regards, and everyone is pretty well apart from one guy who stabbed himself with a screwdriver - 2"deep, hit the bone and decided not to bother going to hospital......

Regards, Steve.

britishtrident - 9/3/11 at 09:24 PM

Bike engines reliably produce fantastic outputs for very lightweight, but bike clutches and transmisions were never engineered to drive a car.

Major Stare - 9/3/11 at 09:33 PM