Board logo

chassis quality?
daniel mason - 13/11/09 at 09:15 PM

is there a massive difference in the quality of kit car chassis in terms of driving experience or is it difficult to tell when driving? its just that some manufacturers are far more expensive than others and wondered if it was justified! having only driven a few 7 type cars i am not experienced in the matter so was wanting some advice. i am hoping to start my first build early next year when the mnr sells and although money will be tight i do not want to compromise on chassis quality/strength. can not afford another mnr or mk indy so what are my budget options?

iain b - 13/11/09 at 09:38 PM

dan if u want another 7ish car i would try and stick with whay u have got .....if u can afford to......u know u will be hard pressed to match what u already have.......ps.i may be selling mine soon,but only to build another ,(hayabusa turbo) hope fully...

David Jenkins - 13/11/09 at 09:46 PM

I think that there is a simple formula for this - the more money you spend the less fettling you have to do to make things fit together.

Top of the range - something like a Westfield that's almost a simple assembly job. The further down you go, the more effort you have to put in to get a good result.

Also, the more money you spend the better the customer service will be (will notable exceptions further down the range). You'll get excellent support from Caterham & Westfield, and appalling service from fly-by-night suppliers who I won't name just now.

Caterham are generally regarded as the best as far as handling is concerned - but I'm not sure that it's THAT much better to justify the greatly increased cost.

daniel mason - 13/11/09 at 09:46 PM

i want a crack at building one. i have been learning loads and doing loads of research but everyone else is building and i just always buy them.
if i give myself 2 years and "£8k i should be ok.

austin man - 13/11/09 at 09:55 PM