Board logo

Engineer's input required, rocker suspension
mr henderson - 3/12/09 at 11:57 AM

I've attached a sketch of the way I think the forces involved in a rocker suspension work on the chassis. The assumptions are that the sprung weight of the corner is 150kg, and that the pivot on the rocker (point X) is in the middle.

Have I got this right?

tegwin - 3/12/09 at 12:11 PM

What about the lateral (left/right) forces? That top pivot will be hit with a lot of lateral force!

MikeCapon - 3/12/09 at 12:13 PM

Hi Mr H. My view in my flued up state is the following.

Point Y. As it's a 1:1 ratio 150kgs in equal 150 kgs out so agreed.

Point X. Disagree here. Effectively the cars weight is all sitting on this pivot so it's 150 kg for me.

ETA. Doh.. Of course the rocker is effectively a 2:1 lever thus doubling the force to 300 kg. Matt, you were right and I was wrong.

Cheers,
Mike

[Edited on 3/12/09 by MikeCapon]

matt_gsxr - 3/12/09 at 12:14 PM

I'm no chassis engineer, just a physicist but.

If the rocker is equal length then...

The chassis is pushing up at Y with 150kg force (yuck I know I should use N). In the same way that the rocker at the other end is being pushed up by the wheel.

Therefore the rocker at X is being pulled away from the chassis with a 300kg (3000N force).

I hope that makes some sense. You can think of it by thinking what would happen if you took out a bolt (where would it go).

Matt

Dangle_kt - 3/12/09 at 12:21 PM

quote:
Originally posted by matt_gsxr

You can think of it by thinking what would happen if you took out a bolt (where would it go).

Matt

what, into an old roses tin along with about 50 other bolts I can't find when I need them?

liam.mccaffrey - 3/12/09 at 12:43 PM

Assuming the corner weight is 150kg taking moments about the inner upper connection tells you with a 1:1 ratio the middle pivot must be twice the 150kg.

Matt is right

[Edited on 3/12/09 by liam.mccaffrey]

[Edited on 3/12/09 by liam.mccaffrey]