Board logo

oil temp on track
MK9R - 5/6/08 at 10:56 AM

i thought i had sorted my overheating out on track, which i think was mainly down to overfilling it, but also took out thermostat and put wetter water in.

I have also fitted an oil temp gauge (sender in sump) to keep an eye on things.

Did Anglesey and all seemed fine, but did oulton earlier this week (which is defo harder on the car than anglesey), and i oil was hitting over 130 degs, and the water touching 100 degs after a few hard laps. At least this tine if i slowed, the water temp would drop to 90 within half a lap and oil would drop below 120.

My question is, what sort of temps should i be seeing the oil when using on track?? I really don't like seeing this high. For piece of mind i'm considering fitting an oil rad, but how hard is this on a zx9r motor??

phoenix70 - 5/6/08 at 11:19 AM

I'm no expert in BEC's but I don't think the temps you are seeing are bad. I think if you keep pushing and it keeps going up, then you may need to look at it.

Have you fitted and oil cooler? if not you may want to consider that.

MK9R - 5/6/08 at 11:22 AM

just re read my post, i meant to say i'm considering fitting an oil cooler

indykid - 5/6/08 at 11:23 AM

with avoneer's bitsablade at elvington, the oil temperature got up to about that high but the pressure dropped off massively.

i'd say if you plan a lot of track work, an oil cooler is definitely worth looking at but i don't know the specifics of fitting to your engine.

tom

MK9R - 5/6/08 at 11:26 AM

its a 99% track car

indykid - 5/6/08 at 11:30 AM

i'd say definitely oil cooler then and mauybe look to find ways of keeping under bonnet temperatures down

ducted rad? vented side panels?
tom

MK9R - 5/6/08 at 11:36 AM

noticed a lot of cheap second hand oil coolers off bikes on ebay, is that a good option?? I assume i need to get a sandwhich plate for the oil filter at the same time?

MK9R - 5/6/08 at 11:40 AM