Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: any programmers about? copy right question.
dan_g8

posted on 1/2/11 at 09:42 PM Reply With Quote
any programmers about? copy right question.

hi guys im after a bit of advice,

I currently work as a CAD technician and do a bit of VBA programming when a project needs it/when there is no work/ in my own time. My contract/ job role has nothing to do with programming its just something that i do to help the office out.

There has been alot of petty things going on (one example is that i attended a funeral yesterday for my nan and the person who signed it off has ended up in a load of grief! im sorry but family come first and i gave them over a weeks notice so there shouldnt be a problem),any way i wont go into it all; i want to remove my tools from the office computers but who has the copy right of the tools? i have made some in my own time and some at work. would the company own the tools that i have developed when i was there?

Thanks

stevebubs

posted on 1/2/11 at 09:58 PM Reply With Quote
Not a lawyer, but have working in/around IT development for quite a while...

Fine line here...if it was developed on their equipment, they can lay certain claims against it.

Also depends on your contract - is there anything in there about IPR whilst in their employ?

Pragmatic question - presumably you want to remove the tools/code so you have copies to "refer to" if you leave? Or is it more to stick it to them....If the former then it's normally just done on the QT. If the latter, then if they find you've deliberately removed code/tools they rely on then it could get complicated in a nasty sense...

dan_g8

posted on 1/2/11 at 10:21 PM Reply With Quote
my contract has nothing about IPR that i am aware of.