Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Chassis for a BMW 3.5 straight 6?
aerosam

posted on 24/1/08 at 11:46 AM Reply With Quote
Chassis for a BMW 3.5 straight 6?

Hi everyone! Newbie here! I've been thinking about building a locost for years now, and it's only now that I am selling my ford capri that I will have an empty garage to do it in.

I haven't started any building yet and I need to gather plenty of info before I start.

I have an RV8 engine and an LT77 5 speeder lying around which i had planned to use. But the engine is very high milage and will need a complete rebuild. So I may not use it at all.

Thinking about donor vehicles, the BMW 535 looks very appealing, 200bhp, IRS, LSD, big disc brakes all round, relatively simple efi system. Should make for a nice quick car!

However I can see that the engine is a straight 6 and quite long. What are the known issues in lengthening the chassis at the front (probably the whole thing will need to be +4" wide as well) to accomadate the longer engine?

Thanks guys!

Sam

t.j.

posted on 24/1/08 at 12:04 PM Reply With Quote
IMO (never measured) it possible if you place the gearbox as far as possible to the rear.

It will have it's affect on the room for your feet.

I think the old iron 6 bmw engine is to lumpy. Look for the aly-ones.

Lexus, Toyota supra or VW VR6 etc.
Or a volvo 5 cylindre!

I like straight 6 more then V6. I don't know why

hmmm, need to win a lottery

[Edited on 24/1/08 by t.j.]

Please feel free to correct my bad English, i'm still learning. Your Dutch is awfull! :-)

r1_pete

posted on 24/1/08 at 12:26 PM Reply With Quote
You have an excellent start there with that V8 and box, assuming the engine is from the manual car and you have all the flywheel clutch & bellhousing parts etc. Why not look for a better V8, doesn't matter if its auto cos you have the manual bits.

IMO you cant beet the sound and feel of driving a V8 car...