Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Painting Ali (Confused)
irvined

posted on 6/3/05 at 11:23 PM Reply With Quote
Painting Ali (Confused)

Hello

Having appropriately bent all my ali into the right shape i want to paint them black,

Originally I had planned on getting it done by a sprayshop (I want it painted black) but from previous posts this looks like its going to cost 600 or so which is far more than my budget can stretch to.

I've had a good search through the forums and am now completely confused about which is going to give me a good affordable and good solution.

So first question:

Is 600 really the asking price to spray the two side panels and the rear panel?

If so...

I've had some experience in spraying - i sprayed the chassis with por15 and I'm still alive and should be back to normal after the lung transplant, and some skin grafts to cover up the over spray........ I'm certainly no Monet however.

I intend to spray the car outside, as the garage is very dirty and dusty, im thinking of putting up one of those cheap marquee things to stop any birds using it as target practice.

Is there a particular type of paint which will be best suited to the colour and the ali which also happens to be fairly easy to apply?

I'm pretty clueless when it comes to paint, so my understanding is as follows:

I apply etch primer,
Then normal primer
then my colour

Is that right?

Can anybody point me in the direction of the painting bible? I have lots of newbie questions like how smooth etc etc...

Whats the rough cost for buying the paint to do it myself, and how much should I be buying?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

David

NS Dev

posted on 7/3/05 at 08:29 AM Reply With Quote
Dave, are you and Mike still coming over for a brake line "meeting"?