Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Castor Angle
Tom Beattie

posted on 22/5/06 at 03:49 PM Reply With Quote
Castor Angle

What would be a reasonable castor angle to aim for on what will be essentially a road car, I want it responsive but not super twitchy. The book quotes about 5.3 should it be abit more laid back? opinions please.
BKLOCO

posted on 22/5/06 at 03:52 PM Reply With Quote
5.5 degrees is about right for caster angle these cars will never self centre particularly well due to the low weight on the front end.

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want!!!

Tom Beattie

posted on 22/5/06 at 03:57 PM Reply With Quote
You'll see im new to this but reading this forum the consensus of opinion would appear to suggest an offset on top ball joint of 22-25mm using sierra uprights, by my reckoning on a book chassis this gives castor of 7.69. however its a while since I've done any trigonometry so this could be wrong. I'm just going to work out 5.5.
Tom Beattie

posted on 22/5/06 at 03:58 PM Reply With Quote
Maybe I'm misunderstanding the offset measurement, is it top balljoint offset from centreline?
Tom Beattie

posted on 22/5/06 at 04:00 PM Reply With Quote
If my trig is right then to achieve 5.5 you need offset of 17.8mm. Hows that sound?
russbost

posted on 22/5/06 at 05:00 PM Reply With Quote
Most race car run about 3 -5 deg castor, road cars run anything up to 12. More castor means more self centreing. To check your calculatins are roughly correct, you can use an adjustable spirit level, or a spirit level & a protractor.
NOTE:This user is registered as a LocostBuilders trader and may offer commercial services to other users
BKLOCO

posted on 22/5/06 at 05:20 PM Reply With Quote
The problem is the more caster you build in the heavier the steering becomes (amongst other things). This isn't a problem with power steering but can be with manual steering and a small wheel.