Board logo

is this a scam
joolsmi16 - 28/2/12 at 11:08 PM

email a guy on piston heads about a bike and got the following reply:

Hello,

I'm sorry for the delayed response.I'm selling the vehicle due to a job relocation ( I work as a petroleum engineer in Bangor Ireland - where I'll stay 1 year on a Petroleum Platform) and I haven't got anyone in UK to help me out with the sale.

The vehicle is at the shipping company warehouse in Aberdeen/Scotland and from there it will be shipped to buyer's address. But that's no problem, because I pay all costs for the delivery to your location and I give you 5 days for inspection before you decide whether to buy it or not. They even allow the buyer to test the vehicle before paying for it and I think it is the fair thing to do.

If you are a serious buyer and if you are really interested and if you need more details about the vehicle,
I am waiting for your prompt response.

Sincerely, Peter

Anyone heard of something similar his not ask for a delivery cost / deposit??

bj928 - 28/2/12 at 11:12 PM

1000%

loggyboy - 28/2/12 at 11:13 PM

Seems like it to me, who doesnt know someone in the UK?

snippy - 28/2/12 at 11:23 PM

The phrase "The vehicle is at the shipping company warehouse" is quite common in these scam e-mails. I would steer clear personally.

austin man - 28/2/12 at 11:24 PM

Deffo a scam

Sincerely Peter Hmm I bet hes Nigerian a typical English man would end Yours Sincereley oh and only after he started with your name not Hello

omega 24 v6 - 28/2/12 at 11:26 PM

Ask him where abouts in Aberdeen it is or the shipping agent. I bet between us we could find out if its true LOL

Chippy - 28/2/12 at 11:26 PM

Language sounds a bit stilted as well, may not be a scam, but I wouldn't chance it personally. Ray

Macbeast - 29/2/12 at 07:36 AM

" Petroleum platform " and " your prompt response " sound a bit Nigerian iffy.

The Venom Project - 29/2/12 at 08:15 AM

Sounds like a scam to me