Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: 3d printer
Daf

posted on 1/2/21 at 04:20 PM Reply With Quote
3d printer

Quite fancy getting myself one to tinker with and to get my son into. Has anyone bought one recently? Last time I looked a couple of years ago the technology wasn't really there for the price, but looking at the usual internet shops there seems to be some good stuff out there now. Anyone any thoughts?

3D software isn't a consideration - I do this for a living so no worries there.

Bluemoon

posted on 1/2/21 at 04:30 PM Reply With Quote
Looks at ender 3 Check reviews on CHEP or Teaching Tech youtube channel etc for reviews

I have an ender 3 V1 very happy with it.

Was ordered on amazon seller Comgrow (in June 2020), I found them responsive and helpful seller (Chinese).

Comgrow Creality Ender-3 3D Printer Aluminum DIY with Resume Print 220x220x250mm Print Size
by Comgrow UK
Learn more: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B083ZPVX77/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_PTZ80ZMF5391KFV94S6Z?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Newer versions are around but found above great, good print quality using amazon basics PLA filament.

If you go that route drop me a U2U I will send on some printable mods that were helpful.

[Edited on 1/2/21 by Bluemoon]

watsonpj

posted on 1/2/21 at 06:01 PM Reply With Quote
I have a artillery sidewinder X1
sidewinder
which i would rate but probably needs a bit more hands on than the ender, and i have done some upgrades to get it sorted.

As a first printer I think the ender is hard to bet at the price as its very well sorted and there is a lot of support/forum info out there.

On the cad I like you have access but if you want to get your son to use it I really recommend onshape. A completely free online 3d system that doesn't demand a huge hardware spec and does most things that the high end cad does.