Board logo

Just Imported a Megasquirt MS2V3
big-vee-twin - 15/10/11 at 07:56 AM

Morning all, just imported a Megasquirt kit from DIYAutotune, going to start soldering up this afternoon. Initially I was going to buy an assembled kit but as I used to work as an electrician repairing control panels soldering 6 hours out of every 8 every day for 8 years (20 years ago) I would revive the old skills and have ago at putting one together.

This is what arrived, I will keep taking some photographs through the assembly to keep a diary and report back how hard difficult it is if, anyone is interested?

[img] Megasquirt Kit
Megasquirt Kit
[/img]

Oh, I forgot to mention they are running a promotion to offer 12% discount, but to get this they want to drive up their 'Likes' on Facebook to 6000, so have a look on their page and press like and in no time the discount will be available for those who are planning a purchase.

[Edited on 15/10/11 by big-vee-twin]

monck - 15/10/11 at 08:29 AM

i would be intrested to hear how difficult it is as i was thiking of a kit also

Good luck

Ryan

lotusmadandy - 15/10/11 at 08:51 AM

I bought one of the v3 self assembly kits.
Tbh it was a doddle to put together,i just
prined off the build manual and followed it
to the letter.It helps if you have a stim
for testing as well.You will also need a fine
tip in your soldering iron.

Andy

Snuggs - 15/10/11 at 08:57 AM

Most of the soldering is straight forward however there are a few small transistors that the pads are extremely close together and it is easy to get a solder bridge.

Do ALL the tests that are in the assembly instructions when you are told to do them.

Take your time and you should be OK.

RK - 15/10/11 at 03:21 PM