Board logo

throttle bodies or carburetors?!!?!?!?
jimbona2 - 27/3/08 at 10:09 AM

okay, this feels like the biggest question of my life, which way do I go, carbs or throttle bodies?

I know throttle bodies are more expensive but offer better maintenance and ease of installation?

carbs being the opposite, cheaper, harder to install.

whats the general opinion as its keeping me up at night!

cheers!

[Edited on 27/3/08 by jimbona2]

Mr Whippy - 27/3/08 at 10:12 AM

How good are you with computers?

I like carbs as their familiar and I can fix them but admit they're no match for an injection system.

jimbona2 - 27/3/08 at 10:15 AM

im a web developer so not bad

Paul TigerB6 - 27/3/08 at 10:17 AM

I'd go for a set of bike throttle bodies myself on the Zetec with a Megasquirt. Weber / Dellorto carbs were a pain to keep in tune so if going carbs it would be the bike carbs route for me, but why not go the whole hog and have the even better TB's

jimbona2 - 27/3/08 at 10:20 AM

whats TB? !! thanks!

Paul TigerB6 - 27/3/08 at 10:23 AM

quote:
Originally posted by jimbona2
whats TB? !! thanks!

Throttle Boddies

02GF74 - 27/3/08 at 10:23 AM

depends on age of engine for SVA emissions test. if post 1995 yoiu need TB and cat.

pre will pass on carbs.

if ^^^ does not apply, then carbs are much cheaper and simpler.

whitestu - 27/3/08 at 10:38 AM

I've gone for carbs due to ease and cost.

No need to plumb in a fuel return etc. Carbs and pump cost £40. Manifold [if it works properly] cost another £20.

Stu

jimbona2 - 27/3/08 at 10:40 AM

do TBs give better performance?

Mr Whippy - 27/3/08 at 10:50 AM

quote:
do TBs give better performance?

Simply…yes, plus the mega squirt thing can be programmed to match that individual engine exactly, something which is not possible to do with carbs. Even be best duel choke Webber setup is inferior for many reasons.

Not that it's stopping me putting duel carbs on my Falcon, why? cos they look awesome

[Edited on 27/3/08 by Mr Whippy]