Board logo

Project Thread: Duratec into Fury
Furyous - 20/1/12 at 10:45 PM

I thought I'd start a thread for the work I've been doing. I'll start off by saying this isn't meant as a guide because I'm not an expert and don't entirely know what I'm doing. I'm learning as I go along and I've learnt a lot! If someone sees something wrong, please tell me. I've got some photos in my archive but I'll just post some of them on here.

I thought the relatively low powered Crossflow would be a good starting point to get used to quick cars before going all out. The plan was always to upgrade later on. I decided on a Duratec not long after I got the car and planned on doing the swap in the Winter. I liked the idea of an easy 180bhp+ and the Duratec is more modern than the Zetec. The downside is it would be more expensive.

I was going to get a bellhousing to use with the Type 9 that came with the car. But then I heard the MX5 gearbox fits straight on and has a much nicer mechanism. I think I read it can also take more power reliably, but maybe I'm assuming things. There are plenty on eBay with Buy-It-Now prices around £400-500, which is a fair bit more than going down the Type 9 and bellhousing route. But I saw one on eBay with a low starting bid being sold locally. I ended up being the only bidder and collected it for £125. It's a 5 speed N7 box from the NC MX5, late 2006 onwards.

The engine was from eBay and I collected it for £210. It was completely bare apart from a tensioner, spark plugs, knock sensor, broken electronic thermostat housing (being replaced with a mechanical one) and the oil breather valve and cover.