Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Help for kit car virgin
pauladamss

posted on 21/9/11 at 07:26 PM Reply With Quote
Help for kit car virgin

Hello everyone as title says im new to kit cars so go easy on me.I have looking into kit cars for a while and have decided on the mk indy deluxe kit. The engine on the other hand is proving to be a little harder to decide on first thoughts were to go for a 2.0 pinto it looks to be the easiest option.But i would like to build something pretty quick and dont want to wish id used something else six months later.
How easy is it to fit a zetec engine as it is fwd?
Is it better to fit carbs (ecus scare me a bit)?
where do you stand with newer engines when it comes to cats what determines if you need one or not?
any help is appreciated.

dave-69isit

posted on 21/9/11 at 07:36 PM Reply With Quote
hello and welcome to the nut house please use the zetec as u will only change to one later as the pinto will give u fun but zetec is more fun for same sort off cash just my two pence i have a xflow but i love xflows lol
Poorscousertommy

posted on 21/9/11 at 07:40 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the club! I've been ummin and ahhin for months, settled on an Indy deluxe kit (still not yet ordered) an think I'm gonna settle on a duratec.. Step down from the original plan, but decent power as stock, better power on itbs (prob @ build) and then supercharge a la flak monkey as winter project once build complete!!

From my research, type 9 box (needs modded bellhousing - somebody help me here!) and job as they say is a good un!! Good luck whatever u go for and keep us posted!

Oh yeah, cat for IVA, an then sling it in the back of the garage afterwards!!

lotusmadandy

posted on 21/9/11 at 07:41 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Paul,welcome to the mad house.

I fitted a a pinto to my indy when i built it,then swapped it for a 2.0