Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Part built locost with mazda 1.8
chrisjb111

posted on 4/12/12 at 09:18 PM Reply With Quote
Part built locost with mazda 1.8

Hi all,

This is my first post so please bear with me as I am a bit of a novice.

I have just purchased a locost kit that is part built on flebay (only needs some cosmetics and a bit of fettling to finish, apparently). It is a locost chassis made to what looks like quite a high standard with a mk1 mx5 1.8 engine, gearbox, running gear, new brakes/clutch etc, avo coilovers and all the bodywork fitted and painted. It also came with a trailer so I thought it was worth a bash at the price I got it.

The car runns ok just not been started in a while so a bit lumpy but overall looks ok. It also came with a chassis number from the DVLA and what looks like most of the bits to finish it.

The only worry on my mind is that if want to use it on the road then I will need to go through the IVA and from what I have read so far it sounds like it can be a bit of a worry not to mention a costly exercise. If it looks like it will be too much hastle then I can always just use it as a track car as I have a trailer now.

Sorry for rambling on but was just looking for any advice I can get really as I am a novice and could do with a bit of a point in the right direction or any ideas and thoughts.

I know its a bit of a brief description of what I have got, but hopefully when I get chance to have a good poke around at it I will have a better idea of what it is like, just not sure if there is anything in particular I should be looking for.

Any help would be most apreciated.

Thanks.

Chris.

Jimfin

posted on 4/12/12 at 09:43 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Chris, I built a 750MC Locost race car and used it for track days and then chose to convert it for road use by going through the IVA process etc.