Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: zx12r a1 loom
zx12r fiesta

posted on 20/3/16 at 07:35 PM Reply With Quote
zx12r a1 loom

hi there new to the forum and looking for abit of advice if possible, basically the problem that iam having is ive got a mk1 fiesta with a 2000 a1 zx12r motor in the back which ive been building for the last 3 years the ,
original wiring loom was a complete mess so i brought a new loom of ebay which said a1 2000 zx12r, gone to plug it all in and check before adapting it to suit the fiesta and the problem is that i cant get the fuel pump to prime once the ignition is switched on after further investigation ive noticed that the loom looks a little different as my old loom had had 4 plugs for the switch gears 2 for the left and 2 for the right,
but this loom only has the plugs for the left switch gear which is why i think its not priming the pump as the run switch/starter is not there to be plugged in is there different type looms for this year any help would be much appreciated as iam am completely lost thanks lawrence

Jamesc

posted on 20/3/16 at 07:57 PM Reply With Quote
Do you have the FI light connected? Are you using the bikes ignition switch or a different one?

Reason being that there should be a 100kOhm resistor from one of the wires... If it's missing the FI light will flash as you push the starter button/turn the key.

The other likely problem is faulty diode box... I've has both of these problems!

zx12r fiesta

posted on 20/3/16 at 09:48 PM Reply With Quote
thanks for the reply, i was running the standard car ignition which worked before with the 100ohm resistor but i took that apart after as i was only getting the ignition lights when i turned the key all the way to the starter position i was getting the fi light flashing but only when the stand switch was not connected, but now it only turns over with no fi light and no fuel pump , what is the diode box ?