Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: R1 or GSXR1000
strugrat

posted on 25/5/04 at 10:45 AM Reply With Quote
R1 or GSXR1000

Newbie here,

Ok have decided on a bike engined car. Probably a velocity from luego. Gonna order on the 19th june at Newark.

Which engine would you guys rate as the best between an R1 or GSXR1000?

Or indeed anything else that would be more suited to a BEC (£1500 second hand at a push)

Any opinions comments would be great!!!

JoelP

posted on 25/5/04 at 11:08 AM Reply With Quote
i think the R1 is more powerful. certainly it is more popular in BECs, so it is probably easier to use. ISTR that someone said that there is something in the way on the gixer engine, makes it harder to use with a propshaft. You'll get oan R1 for less than 1500 i think, or a zx9r for £500.

ChrisGamlin

posted on 25/5/04 at 12:20 PM Reply With Quote
R1 definitely, having driven an R1 westfield on track at the weekend back to back with a 'busa Fury, I can vouch that the R1 isnt far off in performance terms so its a bargain really.
the Gixer is about the same power but isnt proven in a BEC, and indeed on track has proven itself to be pretty fragile, Stuart Taylor have now resorted to dry sumping their GSXR1000 race cars cos they were going pop virtually every race.

Chris

[Edited on 25/5/04 by ChrisGamlin]

strugrat

posted on 25/5/04 at 12:27 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks guys. Looks like the R1 is the way to go then.

Anyone know who can source a good second hand R1 motor?

Also anyone on here got a Luego Velocity BEC? Just to firm up that I have made the right choice of kit.

Bo

posted on 25/5/04 at 01:10 PM Reply With Quote
R1

I am looking in exactly the same directiuon as you. I haven't bought the kit yet but I have bought the engine (R1)
I was also looking at the GSXR1000 but it seems they have a problem with the durability.