Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: welding course - any advice?
Paul (Notts)

posted on 19/2/09 at 07:18 PM Reply With Quote
welding course - any advice?

Finally got round to enrolling on a welding course ( 15 evening sessions ) at the local college. Any one got any good advice for a total novice..

Paul

Ps – also got my set of plans for my Terrapin (single seater ) with a good luck message from Alan Staniforth and his book. So this time next year I start building again.

[Edited on 19/2/09 by Paul (Notts)]

stevebubs

posted on 19/2/09 at 07:29 PM Reply With Quote
buy yourself an automatic mask
jacko

posted on 19/2/09 at 07:47 PM Reply With Quote
Dont look at bright light with out a mask
get your self some welding gauntlets
and have fun
Graham

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
handyandy

posted on 19/2/09 at 07:50 PM Reply With Quote
hi,
i,m into my fifth week of a welding course at my local tech college, really enjoying it.

my tips are
make sure you have overalls & safety boots when you turn up on first night, at my college they sent 9 people home cos they didn,t have said items, even tho it was on the instructions about the course, they all came back the following week with correct safetywear.

2nd tip

enjoy yourself, don,t worry how much metal you use, thats what its there for.

3rd tip.
you will i promise you, take home your first decent weld, to show the mrs/family, cos i did

best of luck.
andy

Daddylonglegs

posted on 19/2/09 at 07:55 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by stevebubs
buy yourself an automatic mask

Seconded, got my youngest lad to buy me one for XMAS and wondered how the heck I managed without it.

It looks like the Midget is winning at the moment......

MikeR

posted on 19/2/09 at 07:59 PM Reply With Quote
We didn't need safety boots - but we all wore boots so i guess it didn't come up.